No Two Really Are Alike

I’ve been thinking about paper snowflakes lately – the kind you used to make in school – and wanted to find a way to make them work in our Christmas decorations. The trick was finding the right material to make them out of; my mental picture of them was metallic, but I didn’t want to go to the craft store. Shimmery, but I did not want to deal with the mess of glitter. So what did I have lying around… Foil? Too fragile. Waxed paper? Curls up when you unfold it.

But then, inspiration hit! By gluing a sheet of waxed paper to a piece of foil (Just a quick pass with a school glue-stick will do the job – no need for anything fancy) you’ll get a big sheet of dulled silver paper that’s easy to fold and cut, and works almost like wire-edged ribbon in that it will stay right where you bend it.

While cutting these out I thought “this reminds me of something – oh yah, foil lined muffin cups!” Though I didn’t have foil lined, I did have cute printed waxed paper muffin cups that I tried – the circles are really quick to fold and cut into snowflakes, but they don’t have the malleability that the foil adds. So it seems like it would work, but it’s still an untested theory.

When the snowflakes were all cut they were hung with fishing line from a garland in the house. They make lovely shadows on the walls.


One response to “No Two Really Are Alike

  1. (the great) Auntie Stacy

    Genius! Can’t wait to try this!!

Leave a Reply

