Pear-Thyme Butter

Well by now I believe you’ve seen me scramble my way through the cherries, nectarines, peaches, and plums that are wonderfully growing in the yard. Now we’re onto the pears, and I see the light with only apples and pomegranates left. whew! I am SO thankful that things ripen in succession and not all at once! I’ve been diligently canning, freezing and baking up the fruit, and have only just discovered a tool that is a huge timesaver for canning – my crockpot!

This batch of pear butter was so easy in the slow-cooker. I chopped up the fruit, seed, skin and all, and threw it in the crockpot overnight. The next morning I pressed it through a colander to filter out the seeds, and that’s it. I canned mine, but you certainly don’t need to- Hubbs and I would have eaten the whole batch with no trouble, I’m sure.

  1. Fill a crockpot with roughly cut up pears. Mine weren’t ripe enough to eat yet, but still worked beautifully.
  2. Add 1 1/2 cup of sugar (brown or white) or honey.
  3. Cook on low overnight.
  4. Pour into  colander over a large pot, and use the back of a large ladle or spoon to push the pears through the holes.
  5. Stir in 2 T fresh thyme leaves (optional, yes, but a delicious option if you are going to want to eat this with cheese, which you will!)  2 T lemon juice, 1/2 t lemon zest.
  6. If canning, heat the pear mixture till almost boiling, pour into sterilized jars and process for 15 minutes.

I’ve already licked many spoons full of this pear butter, made some pear ravioli (more about that later) and have eaten it with cream cheese on crackers. I’m pretty positive that someday this fall, on a cozy rainy day, I’m going to make a grilled cheese sandwich with brie and pear-thyme butter, and look at the rain and think about summer… I’m definitely going to need to ration this stuff.

2 responses to “Pear-Thyme Butter

  1. Woah! You put that stuff on crackers with cheese?!? Sure hope there’s some left for me when I get home. 😉

    I’m so glad that you’re so gifted – praise the Lord!

    I love you.

  2. This first photo of the pears is GORGEOUS!!!! I LERV it.

Leave a Reply

